Basing Tutorial

After deciding to base my armies I did a fair amount of Internet research on the technique mostly borrowing the method explained on the Flames of War website. While I am basing each miniature individually with the exception of arty crews, this method can also be used for basing several men on a single stand. Since I play skirmish or 1:1 I will be basing my armies on coins. I have heard that some people prefer to use plastic tokens to reduce weight and prevent accidental destruction of the base if dropped (the coin’s added weight can cause the base to separate from the miniature), I prefer the heft of the coins and also the ready availability. Since I am playing catchup in my basing project because I have not been doing this all along, I have about 500 figures to base and was looking for an efficient effective method for completing this project.

20130404-083826.jpg

The first step is to glue each figure to a coin using a nice dab of PVA glue. For the arty crews I used thick card cut into the desired size for a two man base.

20130404-090801.jpg

Allow the glue to dry overnight so it is rock hard before moving on to the next step.

20130404-090900.jpg

20130404-090918.jpg

Using a small fingernail tool I picked up at the pharmacy and some lightweight spackle you can render a textured surface on your base.

20130404-091049.jpg

I use the tool as a trowel to scoop a little bit of spackle and smear it onto the base.

20130404-091151.jpg

Then I use some water on my tool to help smooth and spread the spackle, or as I like to say make peanut butter and jelly sandwiches on the tops of my bases. This is probably the most painstaking task as spackle is rather annoying to work with. After some practice however you will find a rhythm and be able to do about 2 bases a minute.

20130404-091436.jpg

20130404-091448.jpg

Once you are satisfied with your sculpting and the shape/texture you rendered on you base with the spackle you leave the figure to dry overnight.

20130404-091610.jpg

Once the spackle is dry I coat the base with a coat of woodland scenics earth undertone.

20130404-092324.jpg

Once the earth undercoat is dry I dab some slightly diluted PVA on the base where I want the grass to be.

20130404-092516.jpg

20130404-092554.jpg

20130404-092619.jpg

Using static grass, I chose woodland scenics medium green, but in hindsight would have blended a few different types for more variation, I shake a bunch of grass into a small container and place the figurine into this container. I push the static grass all around the base and tamp it down with my tool using firm strokes to make sure the grass sticks to my base. I then tap the bottom of the base with the tool to remove any access grass.

20130404-093007.jpg

And voila! You now have an efficient, effective, and aesthetic method to base your figurines!

Cheers,

Ted

2 comments on “Basing Tutorial

  1. YourHobby says:

    Hi, great blog, you really should think about maybe doing some intro guide videos too. Really interesting article though cheers, Graham, YourHobby…..

    • tigerlaxer05 says:

      Thanks for the kind words! I will certainly think about putting some videos up once I get some better equipment than just my iPhone video recorder… Maybe a tripod or something too….

Leave a Reply

