Reinforcements for the 6th Airborne

One of my big projects is to make a good sized battlegroup for a Holland 44′ campaign.  I have 1.5 platoons painted up and ready with 75mm pack howitzers, so I have decided to beef this group up with some more support options.  My goal is to have 2 platoons with nice support options, recce jeeps, a command jeep, jeep tows for 6 Pdrs, and Jeep tows for 75mm pack howitzers.  Basically I need 5-6 jeeps and some additional reinforcements in terms of metal men.  I have scoured the internet for some reasonable options and in this first wave of reinforcements I have decided to start by painted 15 of the revell and esci holdover plastics to round out a platoon.  I also did some head swaps to incorporate more berets into the mix.  With head swaps I turned a Brit 2″ mortar from the revell set into another para mortar for platoon level support, and an old revell ANZAC vickers gun with crew into a nice piece for the para platoon.

 

As for the jeep project, I started with a couple of bodged jeep driver converts from airfix bofors crews with ESCI para heads on fully loaded airfix willys jeeps.  I am starting out with two jeeps, one recce, one that could double serve as a tow or recce.  Both jeeps have a nice amount of stowage that I provided from my spares box.

Phase two of this project will be to order more plastic jeeps- either going to grab up more airfix kits or also try some S Models which comes in a 2 pack, and then kit them out to round out a nice corp of jeeps.  The crews I am coveting are from AB, and I would like the officers and radio set that AB makes as well… all around beautiful work, and eventually I want to explore what AB full offerings are for the war table.  However with limited funds I don’t see phase 2 going into effect until the new year.

 

Below are some shots of the new pieces I have made:

hope you enjoy!

 

Cheers,

 

Ted

 

IMG_4520 IMG_4538 IMG_4537 IMG_4536 IMG_4535 IMG_4534 IMG_4533 IMG_4532 IMG_4531 IMG_4530 IMG_4529 IMG_4528 IMG_4527 IMG_4526 IMG_4525 IMG_4524 IMG_4523 IMG_4522 IMG_4521

Leave a Reply

